Thorndike Press

Carnegie's Maid

  • Marie Benedict
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432847031
  • ISBN-13: 9781432847036
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 lbs ( .57 kgs)
  • 454 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released February 2018
  • Simultaneous Publications

This product is part of:

Core - Large Print Standing Order Plan

Option Number: [7]

This blend of current bestsellers and well-reviewed fiction will help you add depth and breadth to your bestseller collection. This is a perfect complement to the Basic Standing Order. Aimed at pleasing a wide readership‚ this plan includes New York Times bestsellers‚ award-winning titles‚ and works by highly acclaimed authors with many simultaneous publications.

About

Overview

Clara Kelley is not the experienced Irish maid hired to work in one of Pittsburgh’s grandest households. She’s a poor farmer’s daughter with nothing in her pockets.

But the other woman with the same name has vanished, so Clara is pretending to be her — if she can keep up the ruse. Carnegie’s Maid tells the story of a brilliant woman who may have spurred Andrew Carnegie toward philanthropy.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“. . . engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men's great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan.”

— Booklist

“. . . [an] excellent historical novel.”

— Publishers Weekly

“With its well-drawn characters, good pacing, and excellent sense of time and place, this volume should charm lovers of historicals, romance, and the Civil War period. Neither saccharine nor overly dramatized, it's a very satisfying read.”

— Library Journal