Thorndike Press
NEW

Chasing the Thrill

  • Daniel Barbarisi
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 0593414462
  • ISBN-13: 9780593414460
  • Shipping Weight: 1.20 lbs ( .54 kgs)
  • Paperback
  • Published/Released June 2021

This product is part of:

Distribution - Large Print Standing Order Plan

Option Number: [8]

As a special service to our customers‚ we distribute bestselling and popular large print titles from other publishers through our catalog. This offers the convenience of ordering from one source. This subscription contains a mix of both hardcover and softcover titles.

About

Overview

When Forrest Fenn was given a fatal cancer diagnosis, he came up with a bold plan: He would hide a chest full of jewels and gold in the wilderness, and publish a poem that would serve as a map leading to the treasure’s secret location. But he didn’t die, and after hiding the treasure in 2010, Fenn instead presided over a decade-long gold rush that saw many thousands of treasure hunters scrambling across the Rocky Mountains in pursuit of his fortune.

Daniel Barbarisi first learned of Fenn’s hunt in 2017, when a friend became consumed with decoding the poem and convinced Barbarisi, a reporter, to document his search. What began as an attempt to capture the inner workings of Fenn’s hunt quickly turned into a personal quest that led Barbarisi down a reckless and potentially dangerous path, one that found him embroiled in searcher conspiracies and matching wits with Fenn himself. Over the course of four chaotic years, several searchers would die, endless controversies would erupt, and one hunter would ultimately find the chest. But the mystery didn’t end there.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Captivating . . . Shot through with dramatic plot twists, colorful personalities, and insights into the nature of obsession, this rollicking account will appeal to fans of THE ORCHID THIEF and BORN TO RUN.”

— Publishers Weekly (starred)

“An engaging adventure story . . . A well-reported insider’s study on the engrossing and alarming fervor a search can inspire.”

— Kirkus Reviews