Thorndike Press

Children of Blood and Bone

  • Tomi Adeyemi
  • Offered By: Thorndike Striving Reader
  • ISBN-10: 1432864092
  • ISBN-13: 9781432864095
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 2.20 lbs ( 1.00 kgs)
  • 874 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released April 2019
  • Bestsellers

About

Overview

A #1 New York Times Bestselling Author
A TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
A TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
A New York Times Notable Children’s Books of 2018
A TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children’s Books of 2018
An NPR Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
A Buzzfeed 24 Best YA Books of 2018
A Bustle Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
A 2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
A YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
A Paste Magazine 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
A Newsweek 61 Best Books from 2018
A Boston Globe Best Children’s Books of 2018
A Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
A School Library Journal Best Books of 2018
A 2019 YALSA Teen’s Top Ten List

Legacy of Orisha (Book 1)

They killed my mother. They took our magic. They tried to bury us. Now we rise.
Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Age Range: 14-17 | Grade Level: 9-12 | Lexile Measure: HL670L

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love.”

— Publishers Weekly (starred)

“. . . Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir.”

— Booklist (starred)

“Powerful, captivating, and raw ― Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional.”

— Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“. . . A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf.”

— School Library Journal (starred)

“This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas.”

— VOYA