Thorndike Press

Kill the Next One

  • Federico Axat
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410498182
  • ISBN-13: 9781410498182
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.55 lbs ( .70 kgs)
  • 628 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released April 2017

About

Overview

Ted McKay had a beautiful wife, two daughters, and a high-paying job. But after being diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor he finds himself holding a gun to his temple. Then the doorbell rings. A stranger makes him a proposition: why not kill two deserving men first, and then Ted will become someone else’s target in a suicidal daisy chain.

“Argentinian author Axat adds layers of twists to this psychological, mind-bending mystery with an unreliable narrator and hallucinatory atmosphere, all permeated by dread and tension but infused with humanity. The puzzles, labyrinths and hypnotic quality of South American magic realism are cleverly interwoven into this maze of a thriller. For fans of Blake Crouch and Tana French.” — Bill's Bookshelf Selector, Bill Kelly

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Nightmare imagery, mind-bending plot twists, and a kaleidoscopic storytelling style . . . but at the core of this literary fever dream lies an elegantly crafted and emotionally resonant mystery . . .”

— Publishers Weekly (starred)

“Axat harnesses that uncertainty to build suspense and creates an intriguing, mind-bending thriller in the vein of Dennis Lehane's Shutter Island.”

— Booklist