Thorndike Press

Lilac Girls

  • Martha Hall Kelly
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410491730
  • ISBN-13: 9781410491732
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.75 lbs ( .79 kgs)
  • 708 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released August 2016
  • Bestsellers

This product is part of:

Peer Picks - Large Print Standing Order Plan

Keep your large print collection up to date with a curated set of buzz books, new and noteworthy reads, and other popular titles, hand-selected by librarians from across the country.

About

Overview

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Next and LibraryReads Pick

For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of debutante turned unlikely World War II heroine Caroline Ferriday, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

“Kelly has revealed the horrors of the only female Nazi concentration camp, Ravensbruck, through the voices of three strong characters who grab your attention and heart from the beginning. Based on actual prisoners who underwent medical experiments at the camp it also tells the story of American Caroline Ferriday who fought for those prisoners to receive post-war medical care. The author shines light on a difficult subject bound to affect discussions and reflections. The intensity and graphic medical scenes could be difficult for some readers.” ― Peer Pick Selector, Christy Wagner

Reviews

Customer Reviews

"Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See."

— Library Journal (starred)