Thorndike Press
NEW

The Consequences of Fear

  • Jacqueline Winspear
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 0063063069
  • ISBN-13: 9780063063068
  • Shipping Weight: 1.00 lbs ( .45 kgs)
  • Paperback
  • Published/Released March 2021

This product is part of:

Distribution - Large Print Standing Order Plan

Option Number: [4]

As a special service to our customers‚ we distribute bestselling and popular large print titles from other publishers through our catalog. This offers the convenience of ordering from one source. This subscription contains a mix of both hardcover and softcover titles.

About

Overview

A New York Times Bestselling Author
A Maisie Dobbs Novel

While on a delivery, young Freddie Hackett, a message runner for a government office, witnesses an argument that ends in murder. Dismissed by the police when he attempts to report the crime, Freddie goes in search of a woman he once met when delivering a message: Maisie Dobbs. While Maisie believes the boy and wants to help, she must maintain extreme caution: she’s working secretly for the Special Operations Executive, assessing candidates for crucial work with the French resistance. As Maisie becomes entangled in a power struggle between Britain’s intelligence efforts in France and the work of Free French agents operating across Europe, she must also contend with a killer found where she least expects. Soon she realizes she’s been pulled into the orbit of a man who has his own reasons to kill — reasons that go back to the last war.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Outstanding. . . . Maisie and her loving family of supporting characters continue to evolve and grow in ways sure to win readers’ hearts. Winspear is writing at the top of her game.”

— Publishers Weekly (starred)

“Fast-paced . . . Winspear never sugarcoats the horrors of war, and alongside the camaraderie shown by these characters and the Londoners surrounding them deliver terrible truths that must be endured. . . . also recommend it as a less-weighty read-alike for Anthony Doerr’s ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE.”

— Booklist (starred)