Thorndike Press

The Mirror Thief

  • Martin Seay
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410493512
  • ISBN-13: 9781410493514
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 2.15 lbs ( .98 kgs)
  • 946 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released September 2016
  • Bestsellers

About

Overview

An Indie Next Pick

A globetrotting, time-bending, wildly entertaining masterpiece set in three cities in three eras, The Mirror Thief calls to mind David Mitchell and Umberto Eco in its mix of entertainment and literary bravado. All three stories will weave together into a spell-binding tour-de-force that is a truly original and thrilling work of art.

“A centuries-spanning, symbolically rich cerebral thriller that threads three parallel versions of Venice (Renaissance Italy, Venice Beach of the 1950’s and the modern casino in Vegas), while perfectly capturing the vernacular and setting of each. Seay’s ambition is matched only by his execution as he masterfully weaves together historical fiction, mysterious texts, alchemy, poetry, political intrigue and the supernatural in an adrenaline-fueled thrill ride. Readers will find apt thematic comparisons to Umberto Eco and David Mitchell but the unique voices of each section will also find wide appeal to fans of Bellow, Ellroy and Kerouac.” — Bill's Bookshelf Selector, Bill Kelly

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“A true delight, a big, beautiful cabinet of wonders that is by turns an ominous modern thriller, a supernatural mystery, and an enchanting historical adventure story . . . an epic with near-universal appeal.”

— Publishers Weekly (starred)

“Grandly entrancing . . . Shimmering with intimations of Hermann Hesse, Umberto Eco, and David Mitchell, Sheay’s house-of-mirrors novel is spectacularly accomplished and exciting.”

— Booklist (starred)

“Audaciously well written . . . the book I was raving about to my friends before I'd even finished it.”

— The New York Times Book Review