Thorndike Press

The Mother's Promise

  • Sally Hepworth
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410497380
  • ISBN-13: 9781410497383
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.20 lbs ( .54 kgs)
  • 502 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released February 2017
  • Simultaneous Publications

About

Overview

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works ― until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets ― secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

A page-turner. All the pieces masterfully come together at the end to create a beautiful novel of courage and love in the face of sorrow.

— Booklist (starred)

Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.

— Library Journal (starred)