Thorndike Press

The Practical Navigator

  • Stephen Metcalfe
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410494519
  • ISBN-13: 9781410494511
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 lbs ( .57 kgs)
  • 494 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released November 2016

About

Overview

Michael Hodge carefully reconstructed his life after his wife left him to raise their autistic child on his own. Now, after seven years, she returns unannounced wanting to be a part of their lives again. With pitch perfect emotion, Stephen Metcalfe has drawn a rich and layered portrait of what it means to be a family and what it means to be truly loved.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Metcalfe deftly tells the story of a man struggling to cope with a life out of control. . . . Those looking for stories with strong, loving father figures will appreciate this book, as will readers of novels dealing with children with autism.”

— Library Journal (starred)

“This is Metcalfe’s first adult novel, and his talent as a screenwriter is evident in every suspenseful scene and exchange of witty dialogue. Fans of Jonathan Tropper and Matthew Norman will enjoy this delightful and sympathetic story of a nontraditional family making its way in the world.”

— Booklist