Thorndike Press

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr

  • Frances Maynard
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1432838733
  • ISBN-13: 9781432838737
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.35 lbs ( .61 kgs)
  • 550 Pages | Paperback
  • Published/Released August 2017

This product is part of:

Relationship Reads - Large Print Standing Order Plan

Features a mix of contemporary women’s fiction, coming-of-age, romance, and other genres highlighting human connections.

About

Overview

Shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Prize

Elvira Carr believes in rules. Also crisp schedules, no surprises, and taking people at face value. Not that she sees many people ― her overbearing mother keeps the twenty-seven year old mostly at home. Then her mother has a stroke. Suddenly on her own, Elvira ingeniously comes up with seven ironclad rules to guide her days and takes charge of herself.

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Ellie’s authentic voice offers a fresh perspective on being different.”

— Booklist

“Debut novelist Maynard puts her background as a teacher of adults with learning difficulties to good effect in crafting this heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project and Julia Claiborne Johnson's Be Frank with Me.”

— Library Journal