Thorndike Press

Wintering

  • Peter Geye
  • Offered By:
  • ISBN-10: 1410493717
  • ISBN-13: 9781410493712
  • DDC: Fic
  • Shipping Weight: 1.10 lbs ( .50 kgs)
  • 440 Pages | Hardcover
  • Published/Released October 2016

About

Overview

An Indie Next Pick

The two principal stories at play in Wintering are bound together when elderly, demented Harry Eide escapes his sickbed and vanishes into the forbidding, northernmost wilderness that surrounds the town of Gunflint, Minnesota — instantly changing the Eide family, and many other lives, forever.

“An achingly beautiful father-son epic that explores the complicated parallel between discovery and escape, man and nature, history and memory. . . . Rich, luminous language, replete with allusions and symbolism (old maps that are now utterly useless), this is a meditation about mapping one’s interior. For fans of Jim Harrison, Cormac McCarthy and Into the Wild.” — Bill's Bookshelf Selector, Bill Kelly

Reviews

Customer Reviews

“Capturing the strength and mystery of characters who seem inextricable from the landscape, Geye’s novel is an unsentimental testament to the healing that’s possible when we confront our bleakest places.”

— Publishers Weekly